Castle Bromwich

Infant and Nursery School

Reach for the Stars

Contact Details

News & Events

Castle Bromwich Infants in the top 9% of all primary schools for phonics!

NEWS AND EVENTS

 

CHRISTMAS HOLIDAYS

We will break up for the Christmas holidays on Friday 21st December at the normal time of 3.15pm. Children will return to school on Monday 7th January 2019. 

CHILDREN IN NEED

Thank you to everyone who made a donation to children in Need.  Our children looked fantastic in their brightly coloured outfits.  As always you have been very generous and we have raised in excess of £660.00.  

 

POPPIES FOR REMEMBRANCE SUNDAY IN NOVEMBER 2018

In support of the Royal British Legion and in memory of those who gave their lives for our Country, we will be selling poppies when we return to school after the half-term holiday.  Your donations can be sent in with your child

 

FORTHCOMING EVENTS

Wednesday 5th December

Year 1 Christmas Disco 3.00pm – 3.45pm (Tickets £2.00)

Wednesday 5th December

Year 2 Christmas Disco 3.45pm – 4.30pm (Tickets £2.00)

Monday 10th December

Christmas choir competition at Touchwood Solihull

Tuesday 11th December

FS1 Nursery Christmas Concerts 1030am and 2.30pm

Wednesday 12th December

Christmas Lunch – Children and Staff Only.

Wednesday 12th December

FS1 Nursery & FS2 Reception – Christmas Disco 3.15pm – 4.15pm (Tickets £2.00)

Thursday 13th  December

FS2 Reception Christmas Concert 9.15am.

Friday 14th December

FS2 Reception Christmas Concert 9.15am.

Monday 17th December

Year 1 Christmas Concert 9.15am.

Monday 17th December

Year 1 & Year 2 Movie Night 3.15 – 4.15pm (Tickets £2.00)

Tuesday 18th December

Year 1 Christmas Concert 9.15am.

Wednesday 19th December

Year 2 Christmas Concert 9.15am.

Wednesday 19th December

Year 1 – My Hero Day – Children can dress up as their hero.

Thursday 20th December

Year 2 Christmas Concert 9.15am.

Thursday 20th December

Christmas Parties – Wear a Christmas jumper.

Friday 21st December

Santa will visit to share a brunch snack with the Children donations of £1.00 would be appreciated.

Friday 21st December

Break up for Christmas holiday at the normal time of 3.15pm.

Monday 7th January

Children return to school following the Christmas holiday.

Tuesday 15th January

Y2 Support your child’s Maths – School Hall 9.00am

Wednesday 16th January

FS2 Reception Support your child’s Maths – School Hall 9.00am

Thursday 17th January

Y1 Support your child’s Maths – School Hall 9.00am

Friday 18th January

Y2 Owls Class Assembly – 9.00am School Hall.

Friday 25th January

Y2 Swallows Class Assembly – 9.00am School Hall.

Wednesday 9th January Year One BADGERS & FOXES Trip to Selly Park Museum
Thursday 10th January Year One SQUIRRELS & HEDGEHOGS Trip to Selly Park Museum

 

GOLDEN AWARDS
Children are chosen by their teachers to be awarded with a golden certificate; here are all of the children who have been chosen over the last few weeks. Their certificates are displayed on the golden board in the school hall for a week and then sent home Kyle and Ralph from Bluebells Class Kaleb from Daffodils Class; Darntae-Revell and Harry from Snowdrops Class; Samuel, Myles and Coryn from Tulips Class; Finn and Jessica from Badgers Class; Jac and Leah from Foxes Class; Jorgie and Shayan from Hedgehogs Class; Macie from Squirrels Class; Allen from Owls Class; Ceejay from Robins Class; Oliver, Alexia from Swallows Class and Charlotte from Swans Class.

 

ALL STARS CHILDCARE
Our school provides childcare for children aged 2 years and upwards and a before and after school care facility called ‘All Stars’. This childcare provision is based in purpose built rooms in our ‘All Stars’ building which is situated on Hurst Lane North adjoining the school playground.
Our breakfast club runs from 7.45am until 8.45am when the children are taken to their classes. The after school club runs from 3.15pm until 6.00pm.
The children take part in games, painting, cooking, outdoor play etc. The children will be provided with breakfast in the morning and a light tea after school. Our Leader for the provision will welcome all Parents/Carers and pupils and will provide all the relevant details. If you would like to book a place for your child, or require any further information, then please contact the Manager on 07796 275080 OR 0121 749 7202.
We do provide 15 hours grant funded childcare for children aged 2 and up to 30 hours grant funded childcare for 3 years old. If you feel that you may be entitled to funding please contact the Family Information Service on 0800 389 8667 or email; familyinfo@solihull.gov.uk. Once the Family Information Service have confirmed you are entitled to this funding please contact All Stars on 0121 749 7202. Please note that if you are eligible for the 15 hours funding, you can use all or part of your funded hours at All Stars.

 

CASHLESS SYSTEM
At Castle Bromwich Infant and Nursery School we run a cashless system, so all payments to School are made either via Paypoint, or over the internet to the parents/carers Parentpay account. The transfer so far has gone smoothly and we would like to thank all of our Parents and Carers for their co-operation.

 

UNIVERSAL FREE SCHOOL MEALS FOR INFANT CHILDREN
All infant school children are now entitled to a free school meal each day. A copy of our school menu is available in Parent Zone. There are four choices of hot meals each day or the choice of a baguette/wrap/bread roll with a selection of fillings. Please ensure that you have completed the Universal Free School Meal form, (available on line at the www.solihull.gov.uk/fsm). If you are entitled to Free School Meals as a result of certain benefits, please complete the relevant section on the form and ensure that the school are aware of your entitlement, as the school receives extra funding in these cases.

 

AFTER SCHOOL CLUBS

 

We will be running various after school clubs during the spring term. Please look out for the letters requesting you to express an interest if your child would like to take part.

 

SCHOOL TERMS AND HOLIDAY DATES 2018-2019
 

Autumn Term 2018
Start of Term Monday 3rd September
Half Term Monday 29th October – Friday 2nd November
End of Term Friday 21st December
75 Days
INSET DAYS Monday 3rd September
Friday 26th October
Monday 5th November
Spring Term 2019
Start of Term Monday 7th January
Half Term Monday 18th February – Friday 22nd February
End of Term Friday 12th April 2019
65 Days
INSET DAYS Monday 25th February
Summer Term 2019
Start of Term Monday 29th April
May Bank Holiday Monday 6th May
Half Term Monday 27th May – Friday 31st May
End of Term Monday 22nd July
55 Days
INSET DAYS Friday 28th June
TOTAL 195 Days
Easter Sunday Sunday 21st April
May Day Monday 6th May
SCHOOL WILL BE CLOSED TO PUPILS ON 5 INSET DAYS
(THESE DATES MAY BE SUBJECT TO CHANGES)

 

SCHOOL TERMS AND HOLIDAY DATES 2019-2020

 

Autumn Term 2019
Start of Term Monday 2nd September
Half Term Monday 28th October – Friday 1st November
End of Term Friday 20th December

Spring Term 2020
Start of Term Monday 6th January
Half Term Monday 17th February – Friday 21st February
End of Term Friday 3rd April 2020

Summer Term 2020

Start of Term Monday 20th April
May Bank Holiday Monday 4th May
Half Term Monday 25th May – Friday 29th May
End of Term Monday 20th July

SCHOOL WILL BE CLOSED TO PUPILS ON 5 INSET DAYS (DATES TO BE ARRANGED)

 

 

 


 

Top